Prof. Jianwei Huang Named 2016 IEEE Fellow


Prof. Jianwei Huang from the Department of Information Engineering has been named an IEEE Fellow, effective January 2016. He is being recognized for contributions to resource allocation in wireless cellular and cognitive radio systems, and his seminal work on the economics based analysis and design of modern wireless communication systems.

The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the IEEE Board of Directors upon a person with an outstanding record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The total number selected in any one year cannot exceed 0.1% of the total voting membership. IEEE Fellow is the highest grade of membership and is recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career achievement. At the age of 37, Prof. Huang is the youngest among the three newly elected IEEE Fellows from Hong Kong, and the only one from CUHK this year.

Prof. Huang received his Ph.D. from Northwestern University in 2005, and joined CUHK in 2007 after working as a Postdoc Research Associate at Princeton University for two years. He is currently an Associate Professor and Director of the Network Communications and Economics Lab ( His main research interests are in the area of network economics and games, with applications in wireless communications, networking, and smart grid. He is a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Communications Society (2015-2016).

Prof. Huang is the co-recipient of eight International Best Paper Awards, including IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications in 2011, and Best (Student) Paper Awards from IEEE WiOpt 2015, IEEE WiOpt 2014, IEEE WiOpt 2013, IEEE SmartGridComm 2012, WiCON 2011, IEEE GLOBECOM 2010, and APCC 2009. He received the CUHK Young Researcher Award in 2014 and IEEE ComSoc Asia-Pacific Outstanding Young Researcher Award in 2009. He has co-authored four books, five ESI highly cited papers, and close to 200 papers and book chapters in top international venues. He has been serving as Editors and Guest Editors of several leading international journals and magazines, including IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, IEEE Transactions on Cognitive Communications and Networking, IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid, IEEE Network, and IEEE Communications Magazine. He has served as Chair of IEEE Communications Society Multimedia Communications Technical Committee, and Vice Chair of IEEE Communications Society Cognitive Network Technical Committee. He is the recipient of IEEE ComSoc Multimedia Communications Technical Committee Distinguished Service Award in 2015 and IEEE GLOBECOM Outstanding Service Award in 2010. For more details, please see